Clay mugshot

Good morning / afternoon / evening.

My name is Clay Wirestone. I’m an editor, writer, designer, cartoonist, blogger and bon vivant. I love both print and the web with an unseemly passion. This site collects some of my better work in one convenient location.

At present, I work for The Topeka Capital-Journal in Topeka, Kan., after several years at New Hampshire’s own Concord Monitor. I do all of the things just mentioned, as well as drink many a can of diet soda. I’m also available for freelance work (visit the freelance section to learn more). You can send me e-mail at

But don’t stop at e-mail. You can reach me in a multiplicity of ways. I post much of my new work to my public-facing Facebook page, and my Twitter account sees mild kvetching from time to time. Drop by my LinkedIn profile for a more businesslike approach.

For a list of the websites, newspapers and magazines I’ve worked for, as well as other ways to connect through social media, see the lists of links collected to the right.


Kansas Press Association
The Topeka Capital-Journal: editorial sweepstakes award (2016)
The Topeka Capital-Journal: news and writing excellence, first place (2016)
The Topeka Capital-Journal: best front page, first place (2016)
Best online video (news), second place (with Jonathan Shorman) (2016)
The Topeka Capital-Journal: Design and layout excellence, third place (2016)

New England Newspaper & Press Association
Concord Monitor: distinguished newspaper (2014)
Sunday Monitor and Concord Monitor: newspaper of the year (2010, 2011)

New Hampshire Press Association

      • Sunday Monitor and Concord Monitor: first place general excellence (2008-2009, 2011-2014), second place general excellence (2010)
      • Concord Monitor website: first place (2011, 2014)
      • Social issues reporting: second place (2014)
      • Features section: first place (2010), second place (2009), third place (2014)
      • Front page: first place (2009), second place (2014)
      • Arts page: third place (2009)

New England Associated Press News Executives

      • Informational graphic: second place (2012)
      • Edited first-place features story, designed third-place photo story (2012)
      • Front page design: second place (2011)
      • Features design: first place (2010), third place (2009)

New England Newspaper Association
Sunday Monitor, newspaper of the year (2007-2009)

National Press Photographers Association (2007)
Best use of photography, second quarter; second place multiple page
(with Dan Habib, Preston Gannaway, Vanessa Valdes and Dan Barrick)

Kansas Scholastic Press Association (2002-1999)
Judge for journalism contests

Mark of Excellence Journalism Award (2001)
First place in editorial cartooning for Region 7

Roy W. Howard National Reporting Competition (2000)
Honorable mention, top 12

Kansas Journalism Scholarship (2000)
Awarded by the Kansas City Press Club

If an award is preceded by a news organization’s name, the honor is shared with staff.


New Hampshire Press Association (2010-2014)
Member of state journalism group’s governing board

American Copy Editors Society (2003-present)

National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association (2003-present)

Kappa Tau Alpha (2002)
National journalism honor society